Monday, 19 January 2015

Types of Visa


In general terms, we can distinguish visas into two broad categories, determined by the duration of visa:

Short-term visas, provided for stays up to 90 days over the period of 180 days, calculated from date of the 1st entry into the Schengen area.

Schengen visas are uniform (VSU) and visas to territoriality Limited (VTL). Uniform visa is valid for the entire territory of the Schengen States; visas to territoriality Limited, issued only in exceptional cases, are valid for the country of one or more Member States but not for everyone;

The national visas allow entry for long stay only in the State that issued and circulated, also waiting for the residence permit, within the Schengen area up to a maximum of 90 days.
The uniform Schengen visa is a visa type C, the national visa is a visa type D.

Visas for short stay may be issued for the purpose of: business, medical care, sports competitions, invitation, self-employment, employment, mission, religious reasons, study, transport and tourism.
Visas for long stay may be issued to: adoption, medical care, diplomatic reasons, family member, self-employment, employment, mission, religious reasons, re-entry, choice of residence, family members, students, working holidays.