Wednesday, 28 January 2015

Magnetic Field


Magnetic fields are produced by electrical currents, which can be macroscopic currents in wires or tiny currents associated with electrons in atomic orbits. The magnetic field is defined in terms of the force exerted on moving charges in the law of the Lorentz force. Magnetic field interaction with the loads, leads to numerous practical applications. The sources of magnetic fields are essentially dipolar nature, having a north pole and a south magnetic pole.

The standard unit (SI) for the magnetic field is Tesla, that can be drive from the magnetic part of the law of Lorentz force, Fmagnética = qvB, which is composed of (Newton x second) / (Coulomb x meter). The Gauss (1 Tesla = 10,000 Gauss) is a unit of smaller magnetic field.

The magnetic quantity B which we call here "magnetic field", is sometimes called "magnetic flux density". The Weber per square meter is the ancient name of Tesla, being the Weber the unit of magnetic flux.